2013-2014 Governors' Cup

Team Leaders

PPG: M. Blakely (19.20)
RPG: M. Blakely (15.65)
APG: M. Blakely (3.85)
SPG: M. Blakely (1.80)
BPG: M. Blakely (2.40)

July 09, 2014 8:00PM
Smart Araneta Coliseum
  1st 2nd 3rd 4th
ROS 16 38 70 89
SMC 23 43 73 92
Discussion | Boxscores
Best Player/s: James Yap 29pts 8rebs 12/18FG

Team Page | Roster | Schedule/Results | Player Stats

Winning mix: James Yap, Marc Pingris, Peter June Simon break Purefoods franchise record for titles

July 10, 2014

San Mig Coffee Mixers. Sports5/Paul MataSan Mig Coffee’s ‘Big Three’ of James Yap, Peter June Simon and Marc Pingris just became the winningest trio in the history of the former Purefoods franchise after completing their historic Grand Slam bid in Game Five of the PLDT Home Telpad Governors’ Cup finals on Wednesday at the jampacked SMART-Araneta Coliseum.

The triumvirate has delivered seven championships together, breaking the previous franchise mark of six, held by the legendary Alvin Patrimonio.

Patrimonio, who is now the team manager of this Tim Cone-coached San Mig Coffee squad, could not be more proud.

“Nung player ako, six championships lang ako. Now na-break na nila, ng grupong ito. Saludo ako sa kanila. Ang galing,” Patrimonio told InterAksyon.com after clinching the crown....

Read full article

Next in line: Rising San Mig Coffee star Mark Barroca hopes to continue legacy of past franchise greats

July 10, 2014

Mark Barroca of San Mig Coffee. Sports5/Paul MataAt the young stage of his career, Mark Barroca had already won five championships.

That’s five championships and counting.

“Wala akong in-e-expect sa early stage ng career ko. Parang learning stage pa rin kasi sa akin yan. Pero alam ko itong team na ito may potential. Iniisip ko lang kung paano ako makakatulong,” Barroca told InterAksyon.com in an exclusive interview....

Read full article

Oops... San Mig Coffee Mixers break Governors' Cup trophy during celebration

July 10, 2014

 The Governors' Cup trophy was damaged during San Mig Coffee's celebration. Renee FopalanThe San Mig Super Coffee Mixers had plenty of things to celebrate on Wednesday night after completing the PBA Grand Slam... and it's hard to blame them if they can get a little too enthusiastic.

The Mixers saw their Governors' Cup trophy damaged during their title celebration after clinching the victory over Rain or Shine.

Later on, veteran center Rafi Reavis was spotted walking around with the rest of the trophy....

Read full article

Marqus Blakely comes through on Grand Slam promise to San Mig Coffee: ‘It’s an honor’

July 10, 2014

San Mig Coffee import Marqus Blakely poses with the Governors' Cup trophy. Sports5/Paul MataAt the height of San Mig Coffee’s championship celebration in the Commissioner’s Cup – the Mixers’ third straight and the two-thirds mark of the historic Grand Slam – import Marqus Blakely was on the sidelines watching the team’s success as he worked to recover from knee surgery.

Despite knowing his limitations, the former Best Import of the Conference awardee whispered to superstar James Yap that he would help the Mixers complete win the Grand Slam.

A few short months later and here they stand, just as Blakely said they would be....

Read full article

Who else? James Yap takes home MVP of 2014 Governors' Cup finals

July 10, 2014

 James Yap won his fourth finals MVP trophy. Nuki SabioJames Yap won his second consecutive finals Most Valuable Player award on Wednesday after leading the San Mig Super Coffee Mixers to the Governors' Cup title.

The superstar wingman scored 29 points, including a series of clutch baskets, in the clinching Game Five, putting the final touches in a brilliant series that saw him average 16.2 points and 4.4 rebounds against the tough Rain or Shine Elasto Painters defense.

He also won MVP honors when the Mixers won the Commissioner's Cup last March....

Read full article

Team History (Last 10 Conferences)
Conference Win Loss PCT Placing
2013-2014 Governors' Cup 12 8 0.600
2013-2014 Commissioners' Cup 12 9 0.571 Champions
2013-2014 Philippine Cup 17 13 0.567 Champions
2012-2013 Governors' Cup 14 8 0.636 Champions
2012-2013 Commissioners' Cup 11 10 0.524 3rd
2012-2013 Philippine Cup 13 8 0.619 3rd
2011-2012 Governors' Cup 13 9 0.591 Runner-up
2011-2012 Commissioners' Cup 15 9 0.625 Champions
2011-2012 Philippine Cup 10 6 0.625 5th
2010-2011 Governors' Cup 5 8 0.385 6th