2015-2016 Commissioners' Cup

Team Leaders

PPG: . (0.00)
RPG: . (0.00)
APG: . (0.00)
SPG: . (0.00)
BPG: . (0.00)

No games played nor scheduled yet

Team Page | Roster | Schedule/Results | Player Stats

Setting star: Kobe Bryant holds forth before last All-Star Game

February 13, 2016

Kobe Bryant answered questions great and small in anticipation of his final All-Star Game. Seyit Aydogan/Anadolu Agency/Getty ImagesTORONTO -- "Kobe! Kobe! We're from Toronto. We just wanted to give you a retirement gift," the local radio station reporter said, pushing a cream-colored envelope and shimmering red gift bag replete with a white bow across the table.

"Dear Kobe," the envelope read in cursive, and inside the bag: a bottle of Brio, a sweet Italian soda produced in Canada.

"Ah, thanks, man," Kobe Bryant said, nodding before taking both gifts and carefully placing them beside his feet.

By that point Friday, the Los Angeles Lakers icon was nearly one minute into a 25-minute media session leading up to his final All-Star Game on Sunday at the Air Canada Centre. Four questions had been lobbed his way; nearly 70 more would follow, including if Bryant would miss talking to the media after he bids the NBA adieu....

Read full article

Carmelo Anthony to serve as NBPA vice president

February 13, 2016

TORONTO -- New York Knicks All-Star Carmelo Anthony has been elected to the NBA Players Association's executive committee as a vice president.

Anthony was voted in by players Friday during a meeting at All-Star weekend.

The veteran joins close friends Chris Paul, the union president, and LeBron James, who was elected a vice president last year, on the nine-player committee....

Read full article

Al Horford is a Hawk in flight

February 13, 2016

What if I told you ... that a legacy goes far beyond what an athlete does on the court? That as he strives to win the ring that consumes the desire of each and every NBA player, he also wants to make his home country and his current city proud as a role model, no matter what Charles Barkley might think about that.

What if I told you that player is Al Horford, the Atlanta Hawks center and now four-time NBA All-Star who embodies the hopes and dreams of a town that has only celebrated a championship once in its history, a World Series title obtained by the Atlanta Braves in 1995.

The Hawks have never been to the NBA Finals since they moved from St. Louis in 1961, but Horford and his teammates have made it their mission to change that in 2016....

Read full article

Nadal Beats The Heat & Lorenzi

February 13, 2016

 Rafael Nadal dismisses Paolo Lorenzi in the quarter-finals. With the temperature soaring above 33 degrees Celsius on a steamy Friday afternoon in Buenos Aires, Rafael Nadal held on for a momentum-boosting win over Paolo Lorenzi at the Argentina Open.

After defeating good friend Juan Monaco with some difficulty on Thursday night, Nadal overcame Lorenzi 7-6(3), 6-2 to record his 346th win on clay. He remains on track to defend his Buenos Aires title and win a 48th title on his favourite surface.

Nadal targeted the Italian’s weaker backhand wing from the outset, frequently going down-the-line on his two-hander to goad Lorenzi into rolling the ball toward his world-famous lefty forehand. The 34 year old made Nadal sweat by going big on his forehand whenever possible and rushing the net with success late in the set. Unfortunately for the Italian, however, the gambit failed at a critical moment, when Nadal hit a vintage running pass before securing the opening set tie-break....

Read full article

Castellanos-Escandon ticketed for Ortiz-Thompson undercard

February 13, 2016

The fight between Robinson Castellanos and Oscar Escandon, due to meet for a vacant interim featherweight belt, is slated to take place March 5 at the DC Armory in Washington, D.C., Golden Boy vice president Eric Gomez told ESPN.com.

The bout will be on the undercard of the heavyweight bout between Luis Ortiz and Tony Thompson, which headlines an HBO telecast. It remains to be seen if Castellanos-Escandon will wind up on American television, although it would make sense to land on HBO Latino.

Castellanos (23-11, 13 KOs), 33, of Mexico, is a feel-good story after back-to-back upset wins. He knocked out then-undefeated Ronny Rios in the fifth round in October 2014 and followed with a lopsided decision victory against Rocky Juarez last January to earn the mandatory shot against titleholder Gary Russell....

Read full article

Team History (Last 10 Conferences)
Conference Win Loss PCT Placing
2015-2016 Philippine Cup 5 7 0.417 8th
2014-2015 Governors' Cup 6 6 0.500 6th
2014-2015 Commissioners' Cup 5 7 0.417 7th
2014-2015 Philippine Cup 4 8 0.333 9th
2013-2014 Governors' Cup 3 7 0.300 8th
2013-2014 Commissioners' Cup 2 7 0.222 9th
2013-2014 Philippine Cup 5 11 0.312 6th
2012-2013 Governors' Cup 4 6 0.400 6th
2012-2013 Commissioners' Cup 5 9 0.357 9th
2012-2013 Philippine Cup 4 10 0.286 9th