5 clubs sign up for new PH Football League

[ Source: ABS CBN News ] - November 30, 2016

 Three-time UFL champs Global will be joining the new PFL. Photo from the Facebook page of Global FCMANILA -- The Philippines Football League (PFL) now has five official football clubs.

This, according to Philippine Football Federation (PFF) general-secretary Atty. Edwin Gastanes in a phone interview on Tuesday.

With the hosting for the Suzuki Cup over, the PFF is turning its attention to the launch of the PFL that will supersede the United Football League (UFL) as the top tier of Philippine club football competition.

“The UFL was instrumental is keeping football popular and viable for us. People must recognize their efforts. However, the league was Manila-based, while the PFL will be national in scope with clubs relocating to key cities. We are following the mandate of FIFA for this,” explained Gastanes.

“Clubs will be regionally and community based. The idea is also to develop local support including a fan base.”
The five clubs are Stallion, Kaya, Loyola, Global, and Ceres.

Read full story on ABS CBN News

Racal, Tanduay shoot for championship berths
Barty Bounces Bouchard Out Of Miami Open – Day 2 Results
Sebastian Vettel: March is too early to predict Ferrari title challenge
NBA disciplines Robin Lopez, Serge Ibaka, Raptors assistant for altercation
Aldridge, Leonard lead Spurs to 97-90 win over Grizzlies
Fajardo can win 8 MVP trophies – Mon F.
Azkals not panicking over scoreless draw, looking forward to Nepal match