Header Ads

San Miguel's Leo Austria voted coach of the year again

MANILA, Philippines—The third time's the charm for Leo Austria of San Miguel Beer as he will once again take home the "Coach of the Year" award that will be handed out by the PBA Press Corps in its 24th annual awards night at Gloria Maris restaurant in Cubao on Thursday.

For winning the award thrice in a row, Austria will permanently keep the Virgilio "Baby" Dalupan trophy, named in honor of the late, great local coaching "Maestro."

San Miguel Beer coach Leo Austria was voted Coach of the Year by the PBA Press Corps for a record third straight season. File/Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports.
Austria, 59, is the first coach to win the award three consecutive years since the sportswriters' group began the recognition in 1993.

The San Miguel coach bested Barangay Ginebra's Tim Cone, TNT's Nash Racela and Magnolia's Chito Victolero.

Austria, who played nine seasons in the league from 1985 to 1993, steered the Beermen to the Philippine Cup and Commissioner's Cup championships, respectively, and came just a title short of completing a rare grand slam in the just concluded 42nd PBA season.

Full Article

No comments

Powered by Blogger.