Header Ads


Star coach makes light of glaring non-calls against Ginebra

MANILA, Philippines -- Star coach Chito Victolero refused to dwell on a couple of non-calls that played a major role in the Hotshots' heartbreaking 101-105 overtime loss to Barangay Ginebra in the 2017 PBA Governors Cup on Sunday.

Perhaps the most glaring of the non-calls was the referees' decision not to award Rafi Reavis with a field goal with 52.9 seconds left in regulation, after his shot was goal-tended by Greg Slaughter.

Star coach Chito Victolero. Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports
Instead, the referees only called a foul on Joe Devance, and Reavis calmly sank both charities for a 92-91 lead. It was a short-lived advantage, however, as Ginebra surged ahead, 95-92, with six-tenths of a second left before Star rookie Malcolm Hill tied the game with three charities.

There were other confusing calls -- Hill was called for his sixth foul with a minute to go despite seemingly being far away from action, and Japeth Aguilar's game-sealing tip-in with five seconds left might have been offensive interference

For Victolero, however, the officiating should not be an issue.

Author: Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News
Full Article: http://news.abs-cbn.com/sports/09/04/17/pba-star-coach-makes-light-of-glaring-non-calls-against-ginebra

No comments

Powered by Blogger.