Header Ads

Santos denies flopping ala Pennisi, insists Smith hit him above shoulder

The PBA Commissioner’s Cup finals series between San Miguel and TNT has certainly produced memorable moments that don’t involve shooting the leather ball through the steel hoop.

There was the tunnel altercation in Game 3, Roger Pogoy’s hit on Arwind Santos’ family jewels, and KaTropa import Joshua Smith’s verbal jabs against Gabby Espinas.

Arwind Santos of SMB. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/INQUIRER.net
In Game 3, Santos got everyone’s attention again.

In the 8:24 mark of the fourth, Santos challenged Smith’s shot underneath the basket, and instead of hitting the ball, the one-time MVP hit the big man smack in the face.

A couple of seconds later, Smith was standing over a lying down Santos.

Video replays showed Smith gave a Santos a little nudge and Santos tried to made it look like a legitimate blow.

“That wasn’t a flop, there really was contact,” said Santos Wednesday at Smart Araneta Coliseum. “All I’m saying is, in those kinds of situations the referees should call a foul because the hit was above the shoulders. There was contact, it scratched me, and so I [exaggerated] it.”

Source: http://sports.inquirer.net/254111/santos-denies-flopping-ala-pennisi-insists-smith-hit-shoulder

No comments

Powered by Blogger.